Sweet Spring….

…Sweet Flowers.  This afternoon as Moira and I were walking around our yard, the air was heavy with the sweet smells of blooming flowers.  The Gardenia, Orange Jasmine, and Magnolia blooms were almost over powering with their sticky sweet fragrances.  Our huge Magnolia tree has hundreds of blooms in different stages.  I thought hard about dragging out a ladder to get closer to the Magnolia flower for this photo.  In the end, I was pleased to get this shot with my 300mm zoom lens.  The Magnolia tree can grow up to 80 feet tall and the flower reaches an impressive size of 15 inches across.  When we first moved to this house, the blooms were very accessible to photograph. But much harder after 10 years of growth. Moira really wanted me to post a picture of a spider that she spied, but the beauty of the Sweet Magnolia flower won for me today.  Hope everyone had a sweet spring day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.