Bridging the generation gap

Megan and her great grandmother (tai tai, pronounced tie tie), aged 79, get acquainted for the first time. Lovely to be able to see family separated by so many generations sharing time together. Sadly none of the other great grandparents are here any longer, and saddest of all was Mags who only passed away in December and was so looking forward to Megan's arrival and of course Rachel's wedding, neither of which she got to see.

The stories Tai Tai could tell. She lived through the cultural revolution, the famines that resulted in the death of millions. Beyond our comprehension. No wonder she now has a smile to lighten up any room.

Talking of the generations, my own grandma was born this day in 1901. I posted a picture of her on Facebook. I don't have many photos of her, but what is remarkable is that she looks pretty much the same from the oldest to the most recent - she just had a natural grandmaness about her. I would find it really odd to see a picture of her in her youth. Not sure my brain could cope with that.

Don't tell Diana, but I think I may have been overdoing it. I was so knackered last night that I skipped the gym and went to bed at 9 o'clock. Could it be time to admit that I'm not a spring chicken any more? No ..... that would be playing into the hands of my arch enemy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.