A bit batty!

Yesterday I went to Machynlleth to pick my concertina up from the repairer. While in the area I went to Ynys-Hir Nature Reserve and had a walk around, the sun was shining, the wild flowers beautiful and there was birdsong everywhere.

While in the woodlands we saw this bat (a pipistrelle I think) flying around. I've never seen one flying in the day before. It was going round and round, at one point being mobbed by a group of goldfinches before disappearing into an ivy covered tree where it's roost must have been. I also saw a blackcap and heard my first cuckoo.

On getting back to the visitors centre I told the volunteer about seeing the bat but she was completely disinterested. Not the best attitude from an RSPB representative who should really have been encouraging the visitors.

We then went for a walk on the Ynyslas sands at Borth before finishing the day with fish and chips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.