The Dancers

I've already mentioned the wild storms we received In central Pennsylvania on Monday night. And so the next morning, I was curious, of course, to see what the rains had done to Millbrook. So I stopped by and walked the boardwalk quickly before my day's obligations began.

The water was running high, but not as high as that one time last May when it was truly in flood stage and it felt like the boardwalk might just be floating. Many of the pathways seemed like canals, there was mud everywhere, and puddles had turned every surface of the ground into a mirror for perfect reflections.

I spotted the water puddling among the big trees, and I headed for them, in the process, slipping and nearly landing on my posterior (yes, all that, in work clothes too). But thankfully, I righted myself at the last second, so rest assured that no photographers (or cameras) were injured in the making of this Blip.

The trees stood with their branches uplifted, reaching for the sky, as trees do; trying to make a bridge between earth and heaven. The sun shone golden behind them, lighting every green leaf and colored bud.

And it seemed to me in that moment that the trees were dancers, dancing for the sheer joy of living. And so, as one of my guiding principles in life is "Never miss an opportunity to dance" . . .  I raised my arms to the skies and I danced too! Carefully, of course, and being ever mindful of the slick mud. ;-)

The soundtrack: The Hooters, And We Danced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.