Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

The Attack of the Mad Swan!

O.k. ... he didn't really attack me . . . but he did chase me!   This swan (mute swan?) was the largest swan I have ever seen.  He was twice as large as the Canadian geese on the pond, and he made the mallard ducks look tiny.  When he stood up to chase me, he was at least 4 feet tall.  It was quite comical for the bystanders to watch this swan chase the photographer away from the lake.  I captured this shot just before he started to come after me. 

I hadn't seen his mate, who was probably nest sitting somewhere.  Apparently, he thought I was threatening his nest.  Or, perhaps he just thought it would be fun to chase this crazy lady away. Or, perhaps he just didn't want his picture taken.  Either way, I did manage a passable shot. 

This was taken at Virginia Lake, right in the heart of Reno.  It was just after sunset, although it would not have mattered much, since it was overcast and raining. 

Thank you all for your wonderful comments, stars and favs on yesterday's blip, Bridge over No Water.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.