jojo97

By jojo97

An American in London

I have to confess that I feel like I have had a totally American day today. We started very early this morning with a trip to the US Embassy to get youngest's passport renewed. While walking there we saw a lovely monument to FDR. I also loved seeing the eagle on top of the building along with the flag.

As far as the last picture goes, there is a story that goes with it. I first have to say that some Americans eat sweet pickles, but many of us really prefer dill pickles. Both of the countries where we lived before here, we have been able to find them. However, here we have not. We have bought so many jars from different ethnic shops over the past nearly four years of living here hoping they would taste more savory but to no avail. I even told hubby this week that I was going to make my own over the summer. Until today....Costco had New York deli style dill pickle spears made in America! I may just sing the Star Spangled Banner before I go to bed to complete my American day! By the way, I really do like living here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.