Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Peacock butterfly - Inachis io

Started bad, but turned into a glorious day if a tad breezy.

Not the most complementary shot for this beauty, but I will take what I can get. Butterflies are never a push over to shoot, British or Indonesian, they are all a challenge. My biggest problem is access, they always seem to land in the middle of the nettle glade and I have to wait for my opportunities. Even when the photo opportunity arrives, it can still take many attempts to get close enough for a good shot.

This little darling landed on the path in front of me and it took four attempts before I was able to get a decent shot. I have seen butterflies landing on the concrete, paths, roads in Indonesia too. I think it is the heat that attracts them, for a quick warm up. So, always worth looking twenty yards ahead when walking a country path, although I have crept up on a few blown leaves!

Today's Indonesian difference discussion is beach decorum; I am of course referring to ladies attire. Indonesian girls love a dip in the pool or a paddle in the sea just the same as the rest of the world, but normal swimwear would be more demure, more 1920's style, full length, fully covered and no chapel hat pegs on show.

Indonesia is not that strict that they would stop western visitors wearing bikinis, but leave the thong at home please and don't even think about getting your wobbly bits out! If you leave the pool area or the beach, it would be respectful to cover up with a shirt and a sarong.

If you should happen to visit your local swimming pool back home and see an Asian lass swimming with a T-shirt and leggings, don't get worked up about it, after all, they let you wear a bikini at their pools and beaches.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.