Seasonal

I met a couple of really lovely people today.  Firstly, a chap who was meticulously rebuilding a stone wall.  We started talking about the cuckoo which both of us had heard yesterday and was also about the point at which I passed him the day before.  He then asked if I’d seen the deer (which I hadn’t).  He had spotted it in the morning, not particularly early, heading down through the fields.  Rich saw a deer only the other week very close to our house and the only other one we’ve seen very locally was on our park over five years ago.  He agreed that it was lovely that he was outdoors with nature but he wished he was taking his camera for a walk!

After that, I met a man on the edge of the moors coming the opposite way.  After we’d said hello, he asked me if I was looking for anything in particular.  I’d replied anything that came my way really, but, after hearing the cuckoo yesterday, I would love to have the opportunity to photograph one.  At which point, he told me that was the exact reason he was up on the moor as he too had heard the cuckoo.  In fact, he was very keen on birds and had led a U3A course on Bird Study.  There were many birds, he told me, that used to be up on the moors and are no longer, including ring ouzels and merlins. 

Over the years, he’s ventured on the moors to follow the cuckoos’ behaviour and had even watched over a cuckoo’s egg in a meadow pipit’s nest.  The stories continued and he was so lovely to listen to and chat with but after around half an hour, we went our separate ways.

I’ve seen plenty on and around the moors today including a willow warbler, red kites gathering nesting material, my buzzard with a missing feather and oodles of jays.  But, Rich chose today’s for its seasonality and I have to say, I was drawn to this one too. 

Tonight, we were supposed to be going on a Magical Mystery Tour but as I was out and about, I felt more and more guilty that Rich would be coming home from work and heading in doors again so I’ve managed to rearrange it for tomorrow.  Instead, we went on our bikes over Langbar and then via the Cow & Calf home.  It was such a beautiful evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.