TerryMarland

By Terrytog

Retro Road Sign

I'm not sure how this road sign has survived but I am so pleased that it has.
I would think that it probably dates from the 1960's but if there are any road sign anoraks out there please feel free to correct me . I am not aware of any others in the area where I live. All have been replaced by modern road signs that, although functional, lack the charm and character of the example in this photograph.  

I have had my eye on it for a blip for some time and it got me to thinking about all the wonderfully British road side treasures we have lost only to be replaced by plastic substitutes lacking in character and presence. I'm thinking particularly of the  red metal phone boxes and pillar boxes in particular. I realise that the modern versions are more practical and durable but I still prefer the originals

This more an example of me reminiscing than a soapbox moment but hopefully it just sneaks into the criteria.

Thanks to youoregon1 for hosting Soapbox Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.