Eye to Events

By i2events

Under the Bridge

Have you ever had an instance in your life, when you have heard a strange sound but couldn't actually pinpoint where it came from. Luckily for me, on this occassion I traced my noise to this fisherman. I had been standing on an adjacent bridge photographing a peculiar structure nearby, something I will probably rephotograph and blip in due course.
While I framed my shot I could hear this intermitent "whoosh". Initially I put it down to the sound of cars passing across the bridge, but then realised it was still happening when there were no cars about.
By luck I happened to look down betwen the gap between the two bridges and caught sight of the back cast of his fishing line as it whipped through the air. Crossing across to the other side of the bridge I was hoping to get a birds-eye view of him fishing. Unfortunately when I got there, I realised that he was fishing immediately underneath the bridge.
Lucky enough, this was the only angle I could get on him. Further along he just disappeared behind the dense undergrowth. I did cross the bridge to the other side of the river, but with just the wide angle lens of the phone he appeared as small as the fly did to the fish.
The river that is being fished is the Taff, which is an enigma of a river having one of the fastest 'rise and fall' of any river in the country. Fed by the run off in the Brecons, it does not take much rain to turn this into a raging torrent. Compare this scene to earlier on in the year.
It was good to be back out again after being confined to the house for a day or two. I didn't venture far. Just down to pay the papers and I was not actually going to pass this spot as it was a bit of a detour from my normal trek home.
An image is something that was caught in a fraction of a second. Whether that moment was the right time to make a best seller remains to be seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.