MELOLONTHA MELOLONTHA

Maikäfer in german, meikever in dutch. cockchafer in english.
In the morning, when I stood in the garden, my neighbour came walking to me with his hand outstretched. I have somthing you will like to take a photo of for your blip, he said. He opened his hand and there she was, the cockchafer. Is she dead? I asked. Oh no, he said, look, he gently blew on her and she moved a bit. Now my neighbour was before he retired a teacher of biology and english. He knows what he does.
He says it is the first one I have seen this year and I took a series of pictures and have send one to the paper already.
I took some pictures while the beetle sat on his hand.
Why did you blew? I asked. And the answer was: To warm her a bit, then she is able to move a bit.
He gave the beetle to me and I looked for a place where I could photograph her. First I choose not a good place with backlight and then I set her on the Ranunculus. I felt a bit confused, it had happened all so quickly. The beetle moves and after six or seven shots she flew away.
Moments later my neighbour at the other side, greeted me.
Goede morgen, she said, (Good morning, of course). She followed courses in dutch language and loves to have a bit of exercise with us.
Then she told me that in the early morning at six o'clock she had seen five deer higher up the slope. She repeated: five! So many she had never seen in her garden.
She likes to complain that the deer eat her tulips and they certainly do. When we see tulips in other gardens Piet Hein and I say: these tulips are not eaten by the deer.
They ate mine too, but I now have several dwarf tulips that have still flowers; they are so tiny that I myself almost overlook them.

My haiku:

Tickling on my hand
The beetle does I do not
Laugh it feels so strange

And the proverb:

As welcome as flowers in May.

1540 Palsgrave, Acolastus R 2.  and in Dickens'Old Curiosity Shop: He's as welcome as flowers in May.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.