Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Unexpected Miracles

Four boys steal a car in Edinburgh

I decide to drive to the Lammermuirs to take some photos

Nick leaves work early to go to a mountain bike shop

Four boys go joy riding in Holyrood Park

I drive home

Nick decides to cut through Holyrood Park

Four boys collide head on with a car coming from the opposite direction

I receive a telephone call

Nick is hit by a stolen car driven by four boys.



And so our lives are turned upside down by four young lads, three of whom ran away leaving the fourth injured by a car which was slowly beginning to burn. They just ran away. When I arrived and the police let me through I saw the burnt out shell of a car and the remains of our own. And I thought to myself 'What will they tell me?' 'How could Nick walk away from this?' But there he was in the back of the ambulance, whole and alive. Which in that moment felt like a beautiful overwhelming unexpected miracle.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.