ANZAC DAY (repost)

Today, April 25th, marks 100 years of the ANZAC tradition.

The date itself marks the anniversary of the landing of New Zealand and Australian soldiers – the Anzacs – on the Gallipoli Peninsula in 1915.

It was a priviledge to go to the dawn service this morning, as the sun comes up over the cemetery beyond St Faiths Church. The cemetery itself is the burial ground of many returned service persons from this area.

I was thrilled to meet this young man at the gates of the cemtery on my way out and asked if I could take a picture of all his medals. The ones on the left side of his body (right side of the image as we see it in the photo) are his own medals of service, as a serving soldier based at Linton Camp. The ones on the opposite side, left side in the image belong to Gt Grandfather of his future wife, who served in WW1.

What a lovely thing to see a young person wear so much history with pride and know he serves on my behalf, to let me live as I do today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.