SIGNS

By Mickky

As you would wish to find it

The producer obviously chose to request indirectly, rather than saying 'Please leave this cubicle clean.' The indirect request in this context seems common also in Japan, in a bit different form though, like 'Thank you for always using this cubicle properly.' Although my British friend said they also have such 'thanking' signs in cubicles here in the UK, I haven't found ones yet.

This sign reminds me of everything about the module I enjoyed the best of all. In the module, I was assigned a pair presentation on Discourse Analysis with a British student. Two of us hadn't been able to work out a theme of our presentation for a long time until one day when I showed this photo to her: she seemed to get interested in this and we set out what to focus on in our presentation, which was, public signs.

Looking into several public signs on the way was quite fun, and I was really pleased to be able to learn perspectives we use to examine public notices in the module.

Language has always been my main concern, but the module made it narrow down to public signs that I later ended in taking up in my blip :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.