peacemain

By peacemain

Salgado through my eyes

I had he honor today to visit an exhibition of photographs of the great pathos monochrome Sebastiao Salgado from whom I draw a lot of inspiration. Having previously obtained a copy of his book "Genesis" I was keen to stand face to face with his photographs in the gallery. Reminiscing on it now, I just felt really happy looking at them like a kid in a candy store. Since I like to understand his work better and reconstruct his compositions, textures, and contrasts, to decipher Salgado's very unique signature, I frivolously took out my smartphone to capture some of his elements for my own pleasure and learning experience. Pause.

In the words of David Attenborough when I came home "I quickly realized that something truly astonishing had happened": in some of the shots the reflections on the framed glass transformed the substance of the photograph and even allowed me to make a little cameo :) i know they say the mind filters everything it sees through its own very subjective lens, but in this case it was inadvertently superexposed on the photographs themselves.

DISCLAIMER: well I've never had to deal with this kind of situation before but let me be clear. I do not own the copyright to any of Salgado's photographs nor intend to reproduce them as his or as my own. I take no credit for this artist's work nor do I take credit for the unintentional alteration of his original work. I anticipate that these pictures will be taken down after a brief review but let me share them with you just briefly before they're gone. 

Best,
P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.