kwchas

By kwchas

Are you Rooney in disguise?

As I mentioned in my Thursday blip, today was the day that I played in a walking football exhibition match at half time during Chester's last game of the season against Nuneaton Town.

In front of 2614 spectators this is the closest I will ever get to playing for the club I have supported for nearly 50 years.

In the end it was great fun and I thoroughly enjoyed my ten minutes of action. I didn't fall over and make a fool of myself, so that was a positive, and my highlight was almost scoring with a header. Thanks to Terrytog for his brilliant blip.

Both teams wore old Chester kit and I was in John Rooney's shirt. John is the younger brother of England international Wayne  so I thought it was quite cool to wear a shirt with Rooney 10 on the back, When I put on the shirt I thought it was quite tight and having been shown some of the pictures taken by Terrytog and snapperman1 I can say that I do not look good in an all-purple kit.

Chester were suitably inspired by my performance and after trailing 2-1 won the game 5-3. It was a good day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.