Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Home Sweet Home

It's Osprey Saturday again!  Since I visited last week, two eggs have been laid and both are taking turns sitting on them.  From what I've seen on the osprey cam, Mom seems to be there most of the time.  I watched them for quite a while today and took several photos.  This is definitely not the best one but I wanted to show their huge nest with the camera and lights to the left.  They are powered by a solar panel at the bottom of the pole.  In this shot, Dad is just arriving home after an unsuccessful fishing trip and Mom is just popping her head out of the nest to welcome him.  One more egg is expected....

Addendum:  I just saw a third egg!  It must have been laid today because I saw only two earlier and the web site doesn't mention it yet.  They should hatch around the last week of May.   :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.