Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

The rain in Spain

When I left Spain a fortnight ago, it was raining and 9º C. On arrival in England it was 22º C, and it stayed mostly warm and sunny throughout my stay. On my return today, not only was I greeted by grey skies and rain, but I couldn't even get home because a half-marathon was preventing access to  my 'barrio'. So we spent an hour, parked at a bus stop watching the rain and the traffic snarl-up and waiting for the roads to be re-opened. This was after a somewhat stressful drive to Stansted, due to an accident on the M4 and an impromptu all or nothing abandonment of the M4 for a dash through Slough to the M40. Just as well that nowadays I always aim to be at airports two hours before the flight. Just-in-time flight catching is too stressful for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.