Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Wild Turkey!

One last quick blip before I mostly disappear for a week. I wouldn't have bothered, but when something like this just shows up in the front yard it is pretty much guaranteed to be the blip du jour. This is a Wild Turkey. We occasionally see rather good sized gangs of them here and there in the fields, or crossing our driveway, but generally they don't, like this one did, come right up practically to the front door. I expect it got wind of the bird seed, but then the bird seed was too close to the house for its comfort level. Perhaps a good sign for my bird sighting luck during the coming week at the birding festival!

I'll be heading for West Virginia in about 2 hours!

Editing from WV - the extra photo is the first bird of my birdwatching week! My friend and I wandered out for a little stroll in the woods near our cabin and found an Ovenbird!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.