Simply Me

By Suze981

Exception no. 1

So when I started my diet/healthy eating on 7 April (or rather the 6th when I announced it), I said there'd be two exceptions. This is the first - the latest instalment of the afternoon tea tour.

The treat abstinence has been going exceptionally well, despite an over abundance in the office lately. But all the same I was looking forward to today.

We went to Marco Pierre White's restaurant in Glasgow for a rose champagne afternoon tea. I think Angela's face here says it all. When it arrived it looked very sandwich heavy with very little mean looking cakes. Not the treat I was hoping for! The restaurant is part of a hotel and so the tables were already set for breakfast - there was more jam on the table than cake. Not a good ratio.

Surprisingly though, we quite enjoyed it. Everything was simple, but executed well. The champagne didn't hurt either. So much so, we had a second glass. I'm sure it didn't influence the score of 30/40. Middle of the road it would seem in our afternoon tea tables.

Angela and I have agreed a break from the afternoon teas now until after 7 July. We might meet for a wee lunch instead though.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.