SueScape

By SueScape

Apple Blossom Time

Gosh this takes me back a-ways.' I’ll be with you in Appleblossom Time' is one of the first songs I remember. It was published in 1920 but sung by Jo Stafford in 1946, the year of my birth. So each Spring I get it stuck in my head and can’t stop singing it, although most of the words are long gone, and just as well as I suspect they would not be appropriate.

 We went to Bignor Park Open Garden today, a beautiful house with the most lovely Sussex view and an orchard in full bloom. The most beautifully mannered children sold us our tickets and greeted  us, and cleared up behind us in the stables where tea was served. Impressive. I love these glimpses into other lives, and I wonder what their Victorian great grandparents would have said to them serving the Hoi Polloi?

I'll be with you in apple blossom time,
I'll be with you to change your name to mine
One day in May
I'll come and say:
"Happy the bride the sun shines on today!"

What a wonderful wedding there will be,
What a wonderful day for you and me!
Church bells will chime
You will be mine
In apple blossom time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.