Andrew

This is my Uncle Andrew who was 97 on the 11th of April.  That means he was born in 1918,  during the First World War. 

His wife, Janet - who died almost three years ago - was my father's sister.   They had no children.

He worked as a farmer all his life and even now is remarkably fit for his age, although his  understanding has completely gone.   

As we had stayed in Kirkcudbright last night,  Cathleen and I went in to see him  this morning at the excellent care home where he lives in Annan , both to say hullo and to touch base with the staff as I have his Power of Attorney and am his named next of kin.   He was reasonably jolly but he didn't have any idea of who we were, just as latterly when Janet was alive he didn't recognise her at all.   

I always wonder, coming away, what he does know and what thoughts go through his head ?   Does he live in his past or is everything around him just vaguely familiar but largely incomprehensible ?

I had taken a picture of my Aunt some months before she died and I wanted to take one of him today.   She didn't want it to be done, but he had no objection though this quizzical, questioning  look is in all of them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.