Preparations for Kingsday

Tomorrow april 27th is our Kings birthday and its the very first time that our nation celebrates 'Kingsday' instead off the traditional Queensday we had on april 30th.

I preparation of the big day of festivities we also have the tradition to have a slightly less official  - but not less festive - queensnight the evening before.

In the old harbor of Rotterdam they were already preparing for tonight and tomorrow.

I liked this brandnew Dutch flag being unfolded while being backlit by the low sun.

In the backdrop is 'The White House' of which I will report its special history soon.

ps. I managed to obtain special armbands to view the very first Kingsday from really close in Dordrecht where the King decided this very first Kingsday would be.

Just hope I'm allowed to bring my camera gear along, my journal tomorrow will probably answer that question ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.