cate1

By cate1

Trip down memory lane

A visit to the David Livingstone Centre in Blantyre, South Lanarkshire, besides offering an enjoyable visit to the centre itself, was a rather evocative experience for me as it unexpectedly  brought back many memories of my teenage years. 
From age 11 to 17, I attended Elmwood Convent School in Bothwell, a stone's throw from the centre. To get to school from where I lived in Halfway, I had to take two busses and a train - unless I missed the train and then I had to go by bus to Blantyre and walk along Station Rd, past the Livingston Park (as it was then called), over a suspension bridge across the River Clyde and a short trek up a hill to school.  As a child this walk had seemed terribly long to me, but having travelled as far as the DL Centre, which is beside the suspension bridge, as an adult I realise it is only about one mile in distance, probably taking much less time than the train- but I wouldn't have been able to finish off my homework on the bus, but could do so on the train! 

The DL Centre is owned by the National Trust for Scotland and is well worth a visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.