Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Hold on

My continuing exploration of dance photography. This one jumped out at me. It somehow alludes to the power and speed these dancers are generating. They do so by using each others body weight and momentum, sharing their balance and using the elasticity in their limbs to propel each other across the dance floor. It's such a difficult skill to master or teach.

I noticed the original had some movement blur in the dancers hair. So I added radial blur to the majority of the picture removing it from the center. I then added lens blur to the background to reduce it's influence. 

The rest is a mono conversion, reduce noise and add contrast. Leaving (I hope) a focus point on the all important hand grip between the two dancers. The focal point of the dance, the only bit that stays still and constant whilst the dancers fly around.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.