London Marathon 2015

I (Annie) spent the day in London, cheering on the London Marathon. I got to my spot early, around the 15 mile mark. We watched the various races pass us, with David Weir in the Men's elite wheelchair race zooming past early on. The blip shows the head of the men's elite race, with the eventual winner (Kipchoge) running here in the blue.

The main event for me though was the mass event - with thousands of runners as well as rhinos, fairies, superheros, monsters, camels and 4-men boat crews. It was great fun to watch, and I cheered on all the runners with the rest of the crowd, calling the names of those that had their names on them. I saw Paula Radcliffe, Jenson Button and Greg James run past - but the main star for me was the person I'd gone to see: my friend Heidi.

She was running her first marathon on behalf of the Cystic Fibrosis Trust, and I was her 15 mile cheerleader. After scouring the crowds of runners carefully, there she was! Go, Heidi! She ended her run at a very good time of 4 hours, 20 minutes and 41 seconds. Very impressive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.