Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Greenness and Brownies

I've been volunteering at Oxfam pricing up cameras and one had a memory card in it, alas with nothing on it.

There was a Kodak Brownie in its little bag. A couple of decent film SLR film cameras with lenses and some point and shoot film cameras, amongst others. I was doing the research to see how much they should sell for. It's good to know that Oxfam get the best price for donated items and even putting high value items on the web-site where people around the country can access and purchase them. Our local shop sold a pair of expensive men's shoes for over £200 on-line recently.

I still have my Nikon film SLR and 3 of my friends still use film, one even has a bellow camera he still uses quite often, and I had been thinking of dusting off the Nikon film camera and taking it out with me, but it's the extra cost of film and processing that is putting me off, waiting for processing and then I need to scan them into the computer. Digital just makes it so easy to produce instant pictures, alter and share them. On getting to the end of a film I always had to do the 1 hour (more expensive) processing as I couldn't wait any longer than that to see the results!

Today's blip was taken this morning when the rain drops were still clinging to some of the leaves. The countryside is so green I wanted to capture a tiny piece of the greenness, complete with a matching critter. Aphids are the gardeners enemy, but food for insects and birds. I could only take a couple of snaps before I had to get to where I was going.

So today, what stood out for me is how far technology has advanced from the Brownie that sold for a dollar, to the DSLRs, digital compact cameras and phone cameras virtually everyone older than a certain age carries with them every day.

Now I wish I had taken a picture of the Brownie. Damn!

Have a great weekend and longer holiday if you've got the week or more off fellow blippers :)

Canon IXUS 970IS, macro setting, hand held

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.