snailspace

By snailspace

Monday Outlook 27/4/15

A slight change of viewpoint this morning. I thought it might add interest to the sequence but more importantly, I was in search of some "Rural Grunge" for a 365Project challenge.

Now "Rural Grunge" is something the islands know all too well. Lovers of rust are well catered for! There is a long, very long, history of  tipping on the islands. Farms are built on farm mounds which are simply midden heaps from previous farms. Well, where else were they going to put their rubbish? It makes for archaeological richness...

It is only in recent times that provision has been made for removing waste from the islands but in some cases, old habits die hard.

A local farmer tips waste on the verge between us and the sea. It rather cuts off our view and my Monday Outlook shots usually skirt its presence as, well, it's damn ugly. Today I wished to explore it and see if I could find a photo or two. 

There are a couple of clumps of daffs that have been flourishing year on year in their precarious habitat at the edge of the sea - they are going over now but they add a flash of colour for a change. Every year I promise myself that I will dig them out and give them a good home but nine years on and I have yet to lift them. I think that perhaps if I did steal them I would miss seeing them out there.

Anyway, my mission was relatively successful and I have I think two "Rural Grunge" images to share later.

The weather is cold. Very much so, with a bitter wind and some very heavy cloud in the offing - perhaps bearing snow. We have returned to our thermal undies as we lack Central Heating until such time as the new burner unit arrives. Mr L tells me that once it gets here it is a fast and simple job to install it.

It is so good to have my bandwidth back, I cannot tell you! I may use it later to upgrade to Lightroom 6, though I have yet to be convinced of its utility, so I may not bother. The only thing is, if I don't take the upgrade price now, going two or more versions later will be a very pricey job. They know what they are doing these software people, don't they? Money for old rope. I should tell Mr L that - he would laugh like a drain... Cumulus will never make us rich.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.