Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie meets a bully

Today we took the bus into town - I had thought I might spy a politician doing something silly for the cameras on the 'campaign trail' (I saw Ruth Davidson with bagpipes on TV), but when we got to the North Bridge I decided it was too much for Archie (and me!) and so we went up Calton Hill instead.

Another thing that depresses me about town is the litter. It was blowing around like we'd never heard of litter bins.

Archie had a good run around up on the hill, with tourists pointing at him and taking photos. Have they never seen a dog on a cannon before?

From there we walked down to Regent Terrace and down wee steep lanes (full to the gunnels with litter) back down to the huge empty space that is the controversial Caltongate . Back up to the Royal Mile and a 35 bus round to the Meadows. As Archie had been on the lead for much of the walk, and so he doesn't count that bit, we then walked through the Meadows for him to chase sticks as well. Quite a round trip!

One rather traumatic incident... As we sat on a bench waiting for the first bus, a man with a wire haired daschund came along. Archie pulled on the lead to greet the dog, and gave a wee bark. The man - wait for it - lashed out at Archie with his foot!! And walked on without a backward glance. I was stunned. I don't think he hurt Archie, or even made contact, as Archie didn't yelp. But a woman waiting at the bus stop came along to ask how he was. She was on the phone to someone saying, 'He kicked the wee dug in the heid! He should be reported.' Archie immediately forgot about the nasty man, as the lady's wee toddler came and sat beside him and patted him calmly.

I wish I'd shouted something at him. Like, maybe, 'BULLY!' and then leapt on the bus to escape... Horrible man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.