Fire

In my absent-mindedness I forgot it was Mono Monday (I swear these come round every week or something).

Under the pressure, I came up with an idea and setup a makeshift studio in the kitchen. To add to the pressure, I discovered there was only one unspent match left in the box. Using a spent one (we always keep a couple as lighting spills) I did some test shots for focusing with the macro filter, all along knowing that I wanted to capture the flare when the match is lit.

Burst mode and out of about eight shots, this one was the first of the flare and the best. I play around with compositing it with a wine glass as the shape is interestingly close. I might put the idea as an extra photo if I can get it to look ok. (*UPDATE: I have added an extra. It's not great, but maybe with a little work, it could end up quite a nice image)

Thanks muchly to notowennewitt for hosting the Mono Monday challenges this month. It's been a real pleasure to explore new ideas.

Smile
Rob

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.