Weird Likeness

Now most know I am not much for shooting portraits, especially of me, but this is an exception. An interactive exhibit at the U of WA Henry Gallery of Gary Hill, a pretty famous video artist, had me captured today.

Somehow the screen knows you are there as you move through the room, adds you into one of the 4 screens around the room, but in these square blocks of values. It reminds me of a collage I did in art school a number of years ago, and when I reduced it in size it became more and more a likeness. Same here, the larger it is the more it is that you see only blocks, not a face. Kind of like Chuck Close paintings too.

Close ups are always a different world, whether a face or a mushroom. (Also saw The Best Exoctic Marigold Hotel and I say if you are over 50 you cannot help but laugh and enjoy!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.