He's back!

T spotted him at 7:20 this morning as she was putting her coffee cup in the sink before we hurried off to the train. I'm thrilled, he's gorgeous, fit and hungry. We have had the feeders out for over a week, waiting. He's a few days earlier than last year . The males always return first, remembering the feeder placements and the faces of those who fill them. He's always shy in the beginning, actually never letting me as close as my very favorite, Mr. Sharpie, probably his dad, now gone where all good hummers go. I had to shoot this photo through the door glass.

Now we wait for the catbirds and orioles next. The catbirds always give us a lift in spirits, perky and nosy, secretive and so understated. The persistent wondering and worries about my special chipmunk, Fyra, (quite an old girl now) begin as well. Will she spend the summer with us growing fat on nuts? The winter was harsh but I bet her burrow  kept her warm if her heart still beats.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird



I planned to go to the Herring Run to watch for fish leaping up river, but I shall go tomorrow now that I have snapped Mr. Lancelot and his breakfast.

For the Record,
This day came in cold and rainy with breaking sun as the morning wears on. Now a few hours later, it's really lovely and I was able to sit out on the patio and read and listen to the male cardinal sing, the turkeys gobble and feel the earth waking up. This amazing beetle walked by, just the most astonishing colors. Here it is with my 300mm Nikkor with 1.4x extender, walking by and face on.  Any idea what it is, about the size of a firefly and flew off as I tried to take a closer look with just my eyes.

All hands healing

1822

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.