Stuart Robertson

By StuartRobertson

Shadows and Light

Every day when I pick up my wife on Hill Street in Garnethill I pass this mural in the park. Today the mural caught my eye with the beautiful shadows and light.

This vitreous glass and ceramic mosaic mural was created in 1978 and is located within Garnethill Park, just round the corner from the Mackintosh Building at the Glasgow School of Art.

Every picture has its shadows
And it has some source of light
Blindness blindness and sight
The perils of benefactors
The blessings of parasites
Blindness blindness and sight
Threatened by all things
Devil of cruelty
Drawn to all things
Devil of delight
Mythical devil of the ever-present laws
Governing blindness blindness and sight


- Shadows and Light by Joni Mitchell

As you may already realise Joni Mitchell is one of my favourite musicians and artists and this fabulous live album was my introduction into the wonderful world of jazz.

I feel so privileged to have seen Joni live in London in 1983 at Wembley Arena. We were 5 rows from the front and witnessed a wonderful concert by a sophisticated lady with an amazing presence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.