Poppy

By Poppy

After the Storms

After all the thunderstorms, gales and wild seas of the last few days, it was a lovely bright sunny morning when I set out this morning. The road down between the loch and the shore was strewn with rocks, stones, seaweed and debris, which made the driving interesting! The building in the centre foreground is a wartime lookout post/gun emplacement. You still find quite a few scattered around the shore lines of Orkney.

The last few days have been quite hectic, hence no blipping, but I hope to catch up in the next wee while.

Yesterday was a bit of an emotional day as I took my pony, Nimbus, to her new home. She is on loan to a very nice old man, who is a real horseman. His old Clydesdale mare has recently died and he was looking for a companion pony for his young Clydesdale gelding, Ben. He was also looking for a pony he could train to harness, to pull a small trap, for which I think Nimbus would be ideally suited. I hope they all get on with each other, Nimbus, Ben and him. When I left them yesterday they all seemed quite happy, and the nice thing is that she is near enough for me to go and visit when I want.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.