A Peep Thru the Pinhole

By Brian1943

Food in the forest

I was out, and driving back home, when I decided that I fancied a coffee out somewhere. So, I decided to go to this place, which is only 5-minutes drive from my home anyway. But, typical me - I couldn't be content with just a coffee. Oh no! There were delicious cakes and other goodies there, as ever. Did I need a cake? NO. Did I still have one? YES. Why, I ask myself, can't I have more self-discipline?  (But that coffee and walnut gateau was - delicious.)

The Wyre Forest is a vast tract of ancient woodland, currently managed by the Forestry Commission, in the north-west of Worcestershire.  It surrounds the towns of Kidderminster, Stourport-on-Severn, and Bewdley.  Clearly the word "surrounds" now has to be taken in the context of the modern age as much of the ancient forest is no longer here. But - much of it still is, and it's a wonderful area for education, recreation and open-air activity. We are lucky to be so close. The café helps, too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.