Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Handle for the Gavel.

I have now made the handle for the Gavel head which you have seen before. One of my neighbours asked me to make a near copy of the one that you saw in my first blip of this. April 12th.

I have included extra shots of the handle still in the lathe. It shows how I have turned it with the large 'ends' held between 'jaws' Just gives you an idea of how I have achieved it. 
Before I took the handle out, I sanded and polished it to a deep shine and then I cut the end which is going into the gavel head first, but before I cut it right through, I took it out of the lathe and finished cutting on the bench in a vice. Then cut the other end. 
All I have to do now is drill a hole in the head and insert the handle with some glue on, leave it to set and then give the whole item a final polish.
I will blip the finished Gavel a couple of days time.

Hope you can follow what I have done, hence the extra shots.

Enjoy and take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.