nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Chemistry

I am a member of staff in Engineering, but we have invaded a floor of the Chemistry department (which is my natural habitat).  It has been constantly referred to as 'chemistry west' and there is a building on the campus map with that name, but as I have finally confirmed today that is not the building that we are in, rather we are in the main chemistry block.  And not only do we not know which building we are in, we also don't know which rooms we are in; we have one lab with two doors with a different number on each, and two other rooms with the same number.  Yesterday I poked a few people and today one of them took me to the estates office to ask for a proper plan, which they claimed to have but did not produce and asked for my made-up version.

None of this is particularly interesting, but seems fairly typical of my experience here so far, with pretty bad communication and no one willing to take responsibility for anything.  In some ways it is rather useful being new, as ignorance is a good excuse for a lot of things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.