Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Wide Angle Wednesday: Signs and Symbols

Saint Francis of Assisi is a symbol of the love of animals.  On October 4, people all over the world celebrate the feast day of the Patron Saint of Animals. It’s customary that in remembrance of St. Francis of Assisi’s love for all creatures, animals are led to churches for a special ceremony called the “Blessing of the Animals.” Every year, millions of animals are blessed by priests in a ceremony that touches the hearts of most of those in attendance.  
I bought this tiny statue of him when I visited Assisi.  I have heard people say that Catholics pray to statues of saints.  Of course that is not true.  The statue is merely a symbol of St. Francis and what he stood for.

Thanks to Chantler63 for hosting the challenge today!

I almost forgot to add that we are staining our new deck this afternoon. We worked this morning and had to stop because of the sun so we are about to get back to it now that it's in the shade.  Please forgive me for my lack of comments tonight because I know I'll be too tired.  I will leave stars and hearts tonight and resume comments tomorrow.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.