conventgirl

By conventgirl

Honeysuckle Babies

Meet my pal Honey. She is so called because her mate built this nest for her in my honeysuckle bush. It was an enormous bush that clambered all over next doors garage. About 3 weeks ago I decided to get rid of it. I snipped a lot of the stems at about shoulder height and then proceeded to untangle them from the trellis an other obstacles. Half way through the job I discovered the empty nest and decided to stop 'just in case'. Later that day I found the male sitting on the nest so I just stopped the pruning. A few days later she moved in and has been there ever since.
A lot of the stems around her have been cut so the foliage is dying pretty quickly and she is becoming more exposed. Its now a race to see if she can produce her babies before her nest becomes too vulnerable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.