LAMENT

Last year about this time, I blipped a pair of geese that flew into our back yard.  One that I blipped was standing on top of a large cotton wood tree that we had cut of about thirty feet up.  Well last night, while we were in the hot tub, they returned.  They came in a squaking, and both tried to land on the tree at the same time.  There was a lot of crashing of wings, but one made it.  the other landed in the creek.
This jogged my memory.  A few months ago, I blipped a pair of geese on my brothers pond by the Pudding river, and said that I didn't know where their nest was,  A few weeks after that, I was walking under the bridge over the Pudding, and a goose came off of the old bridge support and almost hit me in the head.  I remembered that I had seen one up there the year before, and had suspected a nest, then forgot about it.  I had related this to my son Matt then.  So when I related this latest happening to Matt, who often seems smarter than me,  He said that he remembered this, and had thought that if I had walked out on the new bridge, I could look right down in the nest.  Perfect for pictures of geese, eggs, chicks, and all.  I drive by there every morning on the way to golf.  But given the state of my memory these days, I forgot, until those two flew in last night.  So here is the bridge support, the nest, and an egg shell.  A day late and a dollar short, as my mother used to say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.