A Peep Thru the Pinhole

By Brian1943

Flamingoes at Slimbridge

I was going to title this image "Pretty Flamingo", but there might be a generation out there who have never heard of Manfred Mann's song.

Today I visited, with friends, Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust in Gloucestershire. It will have been more than two decades since I was last there, and it has developed well. I and my companions were particularly interested in the three flamingo sets - the Caribbean, the South American, and the Andean. These two in the pic were part of the Andean group.

I remember with fondness the sea (well, lake actually) of flamingoes on Lake Nakuru in Kenya when I was stationed with the RAF in Nairobi in 1963 - a solid vista of pink. I have more recently heard that ecological issues have decimated the flamingo population there, much to my sadness. If true.

I have uploaded a couple of other photos from today, including one cute one of three otters huddling together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.