Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Chasewater Mono

A second day of training, this time the much more sombre subject of safeguarding children.  Hardly a subject for levity and it proved quite thought provoking when some of the exercises were taken from real life case studies and tragedies like Baby P, Lauren Wright and Victoria Climbie.

We were in the Chasewater Innovation centre, a location I often use for early morning photography.  This time it was almost 5 pm before we finished.  As I mentioned yesterday the Olympus OM-D camera offer a very useful function of Live Time where you can start the exposure and watch it build up on the rear screen, choosing when you close the shutter.  Ideal for using the Big Stopper.  

I only took two shots; one of the downsides is that the camera takes even longer locked up processing the image afterwards than it does to expose.  I was getting hungry so even as the second exposure finished I was walking back to the car, letting the camera process while I walked along.

Technical: As well as the Big Stopper I also had a 2 stop ND Hard Grad along the horizon line to reduce the exposure of the sky.  Into Lightroom and then basic processing and conversion in Silver Efex Pro.  I was rather surprised to find that the trees slanted to the right so corrected that with a skew adjustment in Photoshop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.