Derelict Thursday

We're on our way back from Oxford when I see a train in a lay-by!!! I have to get Igor to stop so I can blip it. It seems the trailer it's on is having problems and there are two men underneath the thing.

I'm wondering which bit of the image best fits the title of Derelict Thursday. The train looks quite well cared for. Loved even. But I'm pretty sure it's not in general use any more. If I had to choose I'd probably prefer to make a trip on the Virgin Pendolino rather than in a carriage pulled by this engine.

For those interested Igor has researched the engine - Built in 1898, Metropolitan No. 1 is the only survivor of a class of seven locomotives used by London Transport on the Metropolitan Line.

It was the last steam train on the Chesham Branch in July 1960 and the last steam-hauled passenger train anywhere on London Transport in 1961.

It now resides in the Buckinghamshire Railway Centre.

(Must have been having a day out!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.