time for tea

Well here I am in Dumfries on what everyone is calling the "Jubilee Weekend" and admittedly it's gone 5pm and it's not the actual Bank Holiday yet, but I must say that things seem awfully quiet here. Not much bunting and few people in the streets. I took this photo of the window display in Oxfam, one of the few shops to have made a special effort. Now I am in Costa, having a welcome cup of Earl Grey and reading the papers, which are all full of HM the Queen.

I'm not a monarchist by any stretch of the imagination, although I admire HM for her restraint and her sense of duty. We are having a 9-hour street party in Dunscore, and I approve of any occasion which brings the community together. Where are the "stuff the Jubilee" badges you could buy in 1977? Even in Scotland I hear noone voicing dissent.

Maybe we all just need an excuse for a party. Keep calm and pur the kettle on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.