Albatross!

We were up at sparrows this morning (well I was) for the sunrise over the ocean (our sun sets over our ocean). It was pretty but nothing special except the reflection on the dusting of snow on the mountains. I didn't realise how close the mountains are to the ocean.

Anyhow, we then went on an albatross expedition. On a boat, zooming over rather large swells and then, there they were!! I have never, ever seen an albatross before and today we saw Royal Albatross, wandering albatross,, black browed, white capped and Bullers. The image I have chosen (from hundreds!) is a white capped or shy albatross. We also saw giant petrels, and others, many shearwaters, dusky Dolphins, a fur seal and a blue shark!! All in all a pretty successful morning I'd say. (Although the Driver got a little queasy........)
My extra pic is the pink snow :)

We are now at the airport hotel as we fly out tomorrow morning but what a time we have had in this amazing country!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.