OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Tractors

June the first today, but the Orkney weather found, in a cupboard, a December wind that had gone unused last winter and, hateful of waste, unloosed it across the islands. Freezing.
I went to Burray and the first bird I found was a dead corncrake. It looked like a peregrine had got it. Great efforts are being made to help this species repopulate old territory so every loss is unfortunate. I walked the cliffs and shores until I got to the old graveyard, then took the road to the village. I missed the bus I was heading for...it swept past from behind and blew my hat off for good measure. I still had coffee makings though, so had it by the pier and then walked over to Echna Loch where I saw wigeon with ducklings. Then I saw my first ever little terns. So missing the bus wasn't so bad.
This shot is from a yard in the village. Someone is painting these tractors for, I suppose, outsize garden ornaments. One was nearby...all red and yellow paint like a giant Tonka toy. I think I'd sooner let them rust in peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.