A single moment in time

By WannabeAmateur

Return of the Whipman Riders

Today was the day of The Ride Out, as part of the Whipman festival, led by the Whipman Lass and Lad. I didn't make it along to the start of the ride out this morning, when they generally look clean and pristine in all of their finery, as I was at sewing class.

This is their return, as the village gathers by the river to watch them trotting through the water. A lot less horses than usual this year. But I had heard ten riders had come off, but I didn't hear of any serious accidents which is unusual. There's usually a lot of alcohol consumed during this event, which given most of the riders are riding borrowed horses, which is dangerous.

I did have a good vantage point to start with but Rory insisted on being lifted so this was taken while balancing him and the DSLR in the other hand! Good job us girls are good at multi-tasking. I like the fact I captured part of the crowd which had gather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.