one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

There is a lot of Hedera helix in our backyard. So much, that when we first moved in I didn't know that our water was supplied from a water tank. I needed to do some plumbing work and turned of the main valve at the road side, but wasn't very successful and tried another one, again without any success. Then I went to the neighbours to apologize for accidentally turning their water off, but they hadn't noticed because their supply was from a tank, and so was ours they said. That's when I discovered our water tank, completely covered in this ugly creeping and climbing vine that strangles every other plant in its path. The flowers don't attract much attention, but when isolated and looked at closely are quite pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.