Jess @ Jesus

By jessatjesus

May Day Madrigals

So before coming to Oxford I hadn't really been sure what May Day celebrations were about... I still am not really sure. Really all I have gathered from it is choirs singing early in the morning and very tired (and sometimes) hungover students. We had gone to the Varsity Club for our evening but were back by 1am looking after Hattie. She stayed in my room while I shared with Kitty in her double bed. However I didn't sleep well (if at all) and we were awoken to a panicked and probably still drunken Hattie at 4.30am. She stayed talking and rambling on for about an hour before taking herself back upstairs to my room. We were then awake at 6.30 to watch the Jesus College Choir sing 'May Day Madrigals' with a champagne and strawberry breakfast. I had intended to go straight back to bed but instead stayed up chatting in second quad before hall was open for breakfast at 8am. I've never seen a queue for breakfast before! Nia and I then had a really great catch up, it was wonderful. I left her to nap before her tutorial and sorted out some things in my room before heading to the library for a few hours of work before a revision class in the afternoon. The class was fine, just going through typical exam techniques and general protocol regarding marking criteria and discussing our strengths/weaknesses. 

My evening was divided between the Radcliffe Science Library and the inaugural Jesus College Poetry Society open mic night which was fantastic. It was great too because there were students from many colleges, not just Jesus. I took some photos for them to use as publicity in an article. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.