The beautiful, clever, passionate people

Ten years ago, someone came up with the clever idea of celebrating how fabulous Scotland's young people are.

And the first winner was there again for the tenth annual awards ceremony, which rocked the Usher Hall in Edinburgh.

I'm not good at spotting the famous folk who pop up at these things (there were many) but I have no trouble seeing the amazing qualities of young people lauded for their skills, selflessness, community spirit and talent.

Personally one of my favourite moments was the pure grace and class of Lynsey Sharp's mum accepting the sports award for her daughter - completely unplanned it seemed she made the speech of the night, generously suggesting that her Commonwealth games medal winner "only runs."

Other than that, the first winner of the night broke my heart as he reminded me of my nephew, and had faced the same trials. And the last winner, the overall young Scot of the year, a posthumous award that drew the longest, most charged standing ovation I have ever been involved in.

A night to remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.